Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2016, 02:28 AM   #1

Camera will not work

I'm new to this DSLR thing. I purchased the Pentax K-50 as a starter camera. Everything was going great and it was working awesome until we moved to another country. When I packed it, I made sure it was safe and secure. Now that we are in our new country I wanted to use it to capture our new home. However it will not work at all. The only mode I can kinda get any sort of a picture is auto and even that doesn't always work. Any other settings even the scene ones and even auto the pictures come out black and too dark to see. How can I correct this? They even come out black in the daylight.

01-24-2016, 02:44 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Could you attach a picture straight auto of camera? Hopefully it's just a settings issue.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-24-2016, 02:55 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Jenntray Quote
When I packed it, I made sure it was safe and secure.
Was the camera packed in checked-in suitcases on a flight? They get thrown around a lot and even if you had it packed securely it may have dislodged a mechanical part of your camera. Hope for the best after we see some examples like Adam said.
01-24-2016, 03:04 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Can only suggest basic fault finding procedures. You should find procedures for these in the manual.

Remove battery for at least 10 minutes.
Reinsert fully charged battery.