Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2016, 07:19 PM   #1

Upgrading From K-y

I have a question and a comment. I am thinking of upgrading my camera. I have a Pentax K-y. It has always taken great photos, but I hate the battery problem. I did the first firmware, are there more? I want a camera that when the batteries are depleted, they are really depleted. When I put new batteries in now it says batteries depleted. I go ahead and take photos, after a while I am having to turn it off and back on to get it to work. I used some canned air and blew on the shutter button, it seem to help for a while. I would want one that I can use the lenses I have now with it. Thinking of only getting the camera body, I have a 18-135 lens and the one that came with the Pentax K-y and the ones from my manual camera. Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated. I am just an amateur photographer.

01-24-2016, 07:30 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What's a K-y?

Also, all Pentax K lenses work with all bodies, so you should be good to upgrade to any camera. I'd recommend the K-50 if you consider yourself more of a beginner, the K-S2 if you want a tilting screen, and the K-3 if you're more advanced.

Newer cameras also don't use AA's, so your battery performance should be more consistent.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-24-2016, 07:36 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
K-x I am guessing?
01-24-2016, 08:38 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Your camera is likely a K-r or K-x, rather than a K-y.