Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
02-07-2016, 12:40 AM - 1 Like   #1

Weird circular rings in night photos

Hi,
I am a beginner in photography. I currently own a Pentax K-5 with lens Tamron SP AF 17-50mm f/2.8 (IF).
Recently, I have noticed many of my night shots have these weird circular rings at the center of the photos. Please advice!
I was using manual focus. Anyone knows what is causing it and how i can fix those photos?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
02-07-2016, 12:50 AM   #2
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi Mrbossman. In the " search the forums " box, type in Newton's rings.
02-07-2016, 03:34 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It certainly looks like Newtons Rings. These are an interference pattern caused by light passing through multiple layers of glass or other transparent materials in close contact. Glass and film in contact, prints on a scanner bed often produce similar effects.

I can only guess at the cause in your case. Other threads in the forum suggest filters or faulty lenses as possible causes. Other suggestions are internal reflections between the sensor and lens elements. How to fix it apart from identifying and removing the cause is a bit more problematic.
02-07-2016, 04:45 AM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

If you have a filter attached, take it off. It's the most likely cause.

If that doesn't fix the problem, try shooting at other focal lengths as an experiment: both examples you posted used 28mm. Other focal lengths will alter the distance between elements, which should alter the Newton's rings pattern if internal reflections are to blame. I haven't used this lens, but I would be surprised if that was the cause.

You might also try stopping down a little. Again, both examples were shot wide open, which isn't a good idea anyway. See if that changes anything.

02-07-2016, 05:59 PM   #5