Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2016, 07:49 PM   #1
Forum Member

Old school Canon glass and flashes on a K-S2?

Hey all,

I'm a beginner to photography. I own lenses but no camera (haha) but I plan to use a K-S2 with these old lenses:

Pentax Equipment
• Asahi Pentax Takumar 135mm f/3.5 super-multi-coated with hood (M42)
• Asahi Pentax Takumar 28mm f/3.5 super-multi-coated with hood (M42)
• Sigma for Pentax-K 70-150mm f/3.5 multi-coated with macro feature
• Image Auto Zoom PK 80-200mm f/4.5 with macro feature
• Vivitar Auto 2X-1 Custom Teleconverter (M42)
• Pentax M42 genuine adapter

Canon Equipment
• Tokina 80-200mm f/4 RMC C/FD mount
• Image Auto Zoom 28-80mm f/3.5-4.5 MC C/FD mount

Flash Units
• Braun AG Frankfurt/M Hobby F 34R Flash
• Image 16 Slave Flash

My questions are:

1) I would like to use these ancient flashes so I don’t have to purchase new ones. Will they work on the Pentax K-S2? I’m worried they’re going to fry the chip in the camera. I will probably be using these flashes off-camera for macro shots so would an extender cord work and avoid frying the chip? What cord would you suggest? I heard the K-S2 is having issues or is even incompatible with wireless off-camera flash units. Would both infrared and radio triggers not work? What could you suggest to get these flashes working safely off-camera on a K-S2?

2) Is it worth it to get a FD/PK adapter? I found one by Fotodiox (FotodioX Pro Lens Mount Adapter for Canon FD Lens to FD-PK-G B&H). I understand there will be degradation of the pictures. I don’t really feel like I have a use for these lenses but they may be fun to learn and experiment with. Any experience using the FD/PK adapter? Do you think these lenses should be sold to buy newer glass?