Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-26-2016, 06:46 AM   #1

Lens adapter brands and quality

Hi
I'm new to photography, Pentax and this forum. I just recently bought a K-S2 and I really like the idea of using older lenses or tinker around with technical stuff (e.g. cheap macro solutions). For that I'd like to buy some lens adapters and it seems there are big differences in pricing between the original Pentax lens adapters and generic brands. However, reading comments on various cheap adapters it seems that quality is not only sub-par, but lots of people report damaged lenses/mounts.
I am particularly interested in a M42 adapter and a reverse ring (not step-up/step-down) and maybe I could get some help, insight, experience from you regarding the quality differences (not necessarily flanged/not-flanged and the infinity focus thing) and dangers of damaging equipment.

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by MajorMess; 02-26-2016 at 01:59 PM.
02-26-2016, 07:15 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Quality on the reverse mount rings doesn't seem to be a major issue - there is enough tolerance in the K-mount and the lens filter threads that even the lower cost adapters seem to work.

The main problems with 3rd party flangeless M42 adapters is with the spring clip. Either the clip is badly designed so it jams or the screw is too long and damages the threads on the lens or the spring or screw break cause the mount to jam. Or combinations of all the problems.

The genuine Pentax screwmount adapter can often be found for under $25 on eBay. Since the new prices went up to $40-45 at B&H and Adorama along with availability in the US the prices of used adapters has dropped considerably. Why pay $50-60 used when you can get it for $45 new?
02-26-2016, 09:59 AM   #3
osv
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
there used to be problems with some of the 3rd-party m42 adapters hitting the infinity mark.
02-26-2016, 10:37 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums