Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2016, 10:16 AM   #1

The gift of photography

Hello guys, I'd like your opinion and suggestions. I'm not a newbie, but the person I'm going to gift a camera is. It's my mum. I first thought of a K-50 and a 18-55+50-200mm WR, but I'm afraid she might be intimidated. She likes nature so I want her to have a WR system.. not compulsory though.

Would you rather go that route, or maybe with a micro4/3 like a PEN E-PL6? Both options would be ~$400 and althoug I know the K is superior, I also want her to actually use it, and a smaller camera would be more friendly I think.. what say you, any experiences similar or suggestions? I'm open to anything =]

03-07-2016, 10:25 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Just food for thought:
What is her photographic experience?
Would she be OK with a DSLR and lenses or better with a Point & Shoot? Sony RX100? Superzoom? Ricoh GR?
Does she have a computer and processing software or will she be shooting jpg?
Does she have a computer and a way of saving and finding/sorting her pictures? Or will she just leave them on the card like my dad?
How much time & effort is she willing to put into learning dslr photography?

We considered the same question for my mother in law. Ended up getting her a high end P&S. Takes very, very nice pictures. Small learning curve. She carries it in her purse and really uses it. Been to Europe several times and her shots (viewed on computer, plus the 4x6 prints from Walmart) are quite good. Bottom line, had we got her a DSLR, she would have thanked us, used it once or twice and put it on the shelf. DSLRs are not for everyone.
03-07-2016, 10:32 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums