Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-13-2016, 09:42 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Getting rid of "the blob"

I'm very new to DSLRs...sould someone examine the "blob" at about 10 o'clock in these two pics? Is the fact that it's more visible when focussed at infinity than nearer anyd indication of where it may be? I've cleaned the lense several times but the blob persists!

Thanks!

03-13-2016, 09:45 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Dust spot on your sensor.

Do you have dust removal turned on? If not it should be.

In order of complexity:
1) Camera dust removal system
2) Use a rocket blower to clean
3) Use a sensor wet clean system
4) Send in for professional cleaning work

What camera do you have?
03-13-2016, 09:49 AM   #3

It's probably dust on the sensor. I had this with my K-r and finally got rid of it using a sensor brush, but you should try one of the blowers like the "Giottos" blowers first. FYI, I got the small one, but then got the large one, because the small one was kind of not very powerful:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/58-troubleshooting-beginner-help/313001-s...mages-k-r.html
03-13-2016, 09:57 AM - 1 Like   #4

QuoteOriginally posted by Grey Area Quote
I'm very new to DSLRs...sould someone examine the "blob" at about 10 o'clock in these two pics? Is the fact that it's more visible when focussed at infinity than nearer anyd indication of where it may be? I've cleaned the lense several times but the blob persists!

Thanks!

Definitely just a speck of dust or other impurity on the sensor. Mirror up and clean it yourself with wet-clean swabs available at cameras stores, eBay, Amazon, etc. Works like a charm for me everytime. Shooting in Africa, you need to master this quickly. Alternatively, PP in LR / PS will make that disappear in 2 seconds like magic.

03-13-2016, 11:26 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Yes, dust on the sensor.

I'm very new to DSLRs...