Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2016, 04:04 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
New K50 & new user camera not working

I was taking photos at the bird feeder with my kit 55-300 lens, I took 6 or 7 photos and then the lens started auto focusing abnormally I took another photo and the LCD screen would no longer come on the shutter would take photo but no auto focus and no adjustments shutter, aperture? The battery says its 100% I removed battery I removed sd card, I tried 18-55 kit lens does the same thing takes one photo the lcd screen goes black after while the screen may or may not flash on. I reset settings, I have the newest update. Should I return the camera? Very disappointed I put a lot of time and energy into choosing what I thought was a reliable durable camera. I am new to dslr and pentax hopefully someone can help.

03-17-2016, 04:15 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That`s disappointing for sure, most definitely send it back and get it exchanged with a new one, that is , if you liked it while it worked.
03-17-2016, 04:47 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
A K50 is better than that - lots!!
Send it back for exchange.

The funny focussing thing could have been due to AF-C instead of AF-S selected.
But black LCD's aren't normal by any means
03-17-2016, 05:02 AM   #4
PJ1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Don't be disheartened. Most Pentax cameras operate without glitches like that (mine have all be great). I don't know how long you have been using your K50 but you should be able to get it exchanged for a new one. The K50 is a very good camera and problems are rare from what I have seen. Also, this is a great forum. You won't find anywhere else that is as supportive and good for advice. Get yourself clicking again and stick with us.

03-17-2016, 05:50 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter