Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2016, 10:01 AM   #1
Veteran Member

slow aperture on M 50 1.4

Hey friends,

got an M 50 f/1.4 and I was stoked about the condition. at home I discovered in some testing situations that the aperture is kinda sticky and goes only "slow" from f22 to open. Is there anything I can do about that without dismantling or brining it to the repairshop? I talked to the guy and he told me about 200+ Euro for a lens repair...? Wft?
Will it come back to life if I use the blades a lot? open and close them manually? Hmmm I am a bit disappointed. looked so good that glas...

03-17-2016, 10:16 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
200 Euros is absolutely outrageous. A blade cleaning on this lens is an easy half hour repair, even for the complete beginner. The only tools needed are a rubber friction tool, some lighter fluid, and some cotton swabs, and a microfiber or lens tissue for cleanup. You don't even have to remove any screws if you do it right.

Honestly, you should tell any photographer friends you have to avoid this guy. 50 Euros would be a reasonable quote for an hour of bench time. 200 Euros is highway robbery.

Unfortunately working the lens proabbly will do nothing to help, but I am sure you can find someone who will do it for less, probably on this MB. Heck, if you were in the U.S., I'd be happy to do it for you, but unfortunately the round-trip postage might be prohibitive.

In the meantime, if you want to use the lens, you can mount it on the camera until just before the pin clicks into place and use it like an m42 lens in manual aperture mode on your camera's Av setting. Just be careful not to accidentally knock it off the camera while in use.

Last edited by dcshooter; 03-17-2016 at 10:24 AM.
03-17-2016, 11:41 AM   #3
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by i5_david Quote
Hey friends,