Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-05-2016, 04:31 PM   #1
Forum Member

Understanding Aperture: Manual vs Auto

Hey Everyone,

I’m fairly new to photography and trying to get the basics down.

I’m using a *ist DS with a 50 mm 1.7 in this example, but this is consistent with my other lenses.
I have also went through the custom settings to allow my camera to take a photo when the aperture ring is on a setting other than auto.

When I set my camera to aperture priority mode at 1.7, and set my lens ring to auto, I get an image with nice bokeh. Also, when I set my camera to auto mode, and set my lens ring to a 1.7 aperture, I still get an image with nice bokeh.

But, doing the opposite exercise, I can set my camera to aperture priority at 22, and set the lens ring to auto, I get an image with the background in focus. BUT, when I set my camera to auto mode, and set my lens ring to a 22 aperture, I end up with an image without a background in focus and has nice bokeh.

Why is this happening? I would image that if I have the lens ring set to 22 aperture I should be getting a focused background… Am I missing something here?

Thanks for your help!

04-05-2016, 04:45 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by FozzFoster Quote
BUT, when I set my camera to auto mode, and set my lens ring to a 22 aperture, I end up with an image without a background in focus and has nice bokeh.
You should always have the ring set to "A" on DSLRs, since they're not designed for aperture ring use if there's an A setting available.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers: