Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2016, 12:01 AM   #1

fitting third party onto pentax K30 body

I am a beginner in photography and I have recently bought a third party lens (Sigma 55-250 lens) and a new K30 pentax body. The lens did not work. All shots are dark. Is there anything I should do in the camera settings so that it accepts this lens. Please help me.
Alsalman

04-19-2016, 12:15 AM   #2
pjv
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi Alsalman. Is your camera set to P or M on the mode dial.
04-19-2016, 01:51 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
A Sigma 55-250mm lens? I can't find any info about it. Is it an old lens or maybe a Canon 55-250 or a Sigma 50-200? Does it physically fit the K-mount camera? does it have matching electronic contacts?
04-19-2016, 02:39 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey, welcome! Before we can help you further, we need a little additional information. Could you write exactly what is written on the lens? And also provide a photo of the mount of the lens? When you mount the lens, does it say "F---" on the camera LCD or is there a number?

Here are some typical solutions: - If lens has an aperture ring with the letter A, then put it into the A position (you probably have to push a little button for it to go into A. Once it is in A, leave it there forever).
- Dismount the lens and check if the aperture lever works normally (you might have to take lens out of A for this test), if the aperture blades move as they should (to the correct position, and quickly, without major resistance)
- in camera Menu, go to the very last options, and Enable the Aperture ring use.
- make sure when you mount the lens, that it mounts completely. It has to "click" into place. Notice that there are some mounts that are very similar to Pentax K, but are actually not the same, and will not work well or at all.