Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-27-2016, 03:08 PM   #1
Custom User Title
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Over exposure in Astrophotography and O-GPS1

Hello everyone,

I am very new to astrophotography and I am running into some problem that I hope you may help me out with.

First, the gear I am using:
Camera: Pentax K-S2 with O-GPS1
Lens: Pentax F 50 mm f/1.7 with lens hood attached

I have followed the instructions as I had found on this website provided by Stephane Poirier.
Accueil / Albums | PhotosSteph

In general, this is my procedure:

1. Put GPS unit on camera, turn both on.
2. Wait for satellite connection until I am located in 3D.
3. Turn on RAW. Turn off automatic noise reduction for long exposures (Slow Shutter Speed NR – OFF).
4. Set camera switch to manual focus and the dial to bulb mode.
5. Select ISO 1600 and set aperture to 1.7
6. In GPS menu, select ASTROTRACER and switch ‘Action in B Mode’ to the star symbol.
7. Set the ‘Timed Exposure’ on, and ‘Exposure Time’ to 2’ 30”.
8. Perform a ‘Precise Calibration’.
9. Place camera on tripod at the location I performed the calibration.
10. Turn on Live View and manually focus on a star with 10X magnification.
11. Set the self-timer to 2 seconds.
12. Press the shutter and wait.

Now here is my problem:

1. All my images are white at 2.5 minutes (very over exposed). I have provided some images using different exposure times ranging from 1/17 of a second to 150 seconds.
2. I have no clue what I am doing wrong. I am in a city (Edmonton) making these shots, so it could be light pollution? I didn’t imagine that this pollution would be so dramatic on the image.
3. Is there some setting that I am not utilizing properly?
4. Could you suggest any website that goes through the basic steps of astrophotography and specifically using the O-GPS1 with detailed procedures?

Thanks for helping out this noob.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-S2  Photo 
View Picture EXIF