Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-28-2016, 07:30 AM   #76

Sympathetic, but ---

QuoteOriginally posted by Ari Quote
Any company should have enough product to supply its retail chain, parts for service and replacements for an anticipated failure rate BEFORE bringing them to market. And yes - I am a pro and need the gear for my daily work. Ricoh was kind enough to send me a new body rather than wait longer to repair the camera than I actually owned it. It was the right thing to do Wether or not that shorted someone else, that isn't something I have any control with. And while it may unfortunately cost more money in the EU, that has to do with issues out of Ricoh's control. And there should be NO reason I should have to pay to ship a broken camera to get repaired under warranty. Which, once again, Ricoh was kind of enough to pay for. It's called asking for service and getting it. Fry, if it makes you feel any better, I did end up having to rent a k1 for the weekend for a wedding. Since you think it's so outrageous we Yanks don't have to pay VAT and I was able to negotiate free shipping.
Look, I appreciate your consternation, and I'm glad for your resolution, but I have to same something here. You are quite articulate about what another business (Ricoh) should and should not do. But, your own MO is highly questionable. You are a pro, and you only have one camera? That's not very smart. It doesn't take a full frame camera to shoot real estate. You could pick up a K5 or K3 for not much money and have a back up. And, you rented "a" camera to shoot a wedding? Last weekend, one of my two cameras that I use malfunctioned during a wedding. I would never show up at a wedding with only one camera. Yet, you feel perfectly fine showing up with a rented camera that according to you may be prone to a malfunction. ???

06-28-2016, 07:48 AM   #77
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan