Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-08-2016, 08:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K1 Mode Dial Failure

Evidently this is becoming a common failure on the K1. I have found at least three other people with the same issue, all about a month into owning the body. I have contacte Ricoh and their only option is to send it in for repair (at your expense). I was able to get them to at least foot the bill for a shipping label, but this is quite ridiculous that they are not just replacing the bodies. I have contacted as many people as I can about this issue within Ricoh Imaging USA - I will continue to contact everyone I can. Please let me know if you have this issue, too. I am a pro shooter so I already have about 3000 actuations on my K1 - the failure may be tied to use, so if you are a casual shooter it may take longer.

06-08-2016, 08:08 PM   #2
Veteran Member

If it's still under warranty (which it would be if purchased in your home country) it should be repaired free...
06-08-2016, 08:16 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Ari Quote
Evidently this is becoming a common failure on the K1. I have found at least three other people with the same issue, all about a month into owning the body. I have contacte Ricoh and their only option is to send it in for repair (at your expense). I was able to get them to at least foot the bill for a shipping label, but this is quite ridiculous that they are not just replacing the bodies. I have contacted as many people as I can about this issue within Ricoh Imaging USA - I will continue to contact everyone I can. Please let me know if you have this issue, too. I am a pro shooter so I already have about 3000 actuations on my K1 - the failure may be tied to use, so if you are a casual shooter it may take longer.
To help identify the source of the issue, do you typically keep the lock button on or off?