Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-11-2016, 03:47 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Post-processing software

For several years I have been happily processing my photos using iPhoto software on my Mac computer. I find this software simple to use in make prints, and DVD slide shows with music. I recently upgraded my Mac operating system to el Capitan which comes with a new (to me) post-processing system call "Photos".

I was surprised to find that my options for PP on Photos are are very limited compared to iPhoto. I cannot tweak my pics to the same extent any more, unless I am missing some something in the Photos menu. Admittedly, I am still a novice with Photos and need to fiddle with it a little more.

I had gotten used to iPhoto but believe that it is not supported on el Capitan. Therefore I don't think I can download it onto my new operating system.

Should I purchase new PP software such as Lightroom so that I can tweet my pics to my heart's content, or is Photos just as versatile as iPhoto?

06-11-2016, 03:57 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Photos kinda sucks...

But iPhoto does work on El Capitan. If it was installed before you updated it should still be there. It should even still be listed in the Purchased tab in the App Store app.

I have been using Lightroom for the last year after years of using Aperture. If you can get over the learning curve it is and improvement over anything Apple had.
06-11-2016, 04:27 PM   #3
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Mac user here, for many years... I've never used iPhoto, Photos, or Lightroom for post...

I use LightZone for basic, and Macphun's Creative Kit for anything else...
06-11-2016, 04:56 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by psoo Quote