Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2016, 03:17 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Trouble shooting and NOT Beginner help!!!

Howdy all,
Getting pretty desperate here... I have been shooting Pentax with Pentax lenses for more than forty five years... Most times, my pictures come out okay, (definitely not something to write home about or anything near what I see here on the forum. But mostly, my pictures that would qualify as "snapshots".

I started out with a Honeywell Pentax 35mm film camera, with a 50mm prime in the 70's. By the mid 80's, I got a great deal on a K-1000 and a KX brass body with five lenses; (24mm SMC 2.8, 50mm 1.4 SMC - Prime, a 35-70mm SMC-A, 100mm SMC 4.0 and a 200mm SMC 5.6.) (I came to the Honeywell after a "Petri 7" rangefinder camera.) After going through a digital "point and shoot" phase I finally moved up to a DSLR when I picked up a 10MP K-2000 and have since stepped up to a K-20D.

Now, my problem is this... (or, more realistically... are these);
When using anything other than a 24mm or 50mm prime on any of the cameras I have or have ever had, the resulting image appears like there's very little fine focus... I can see grain but a huge percentage of my images are just not sharp and clear as see a lot of others are...

I fiddle around with settings, (aperture, ISO, shutter speed, tripods, etc.) but I just don't get the clarity I'm looking for. After playing around with the settings on the K-20 until I had no clue about what my camera settings were any more (including the "near/far" focus.) So, yesterday, I did a factory reset to bring everything back to a base line.

Today, I purposefully went out to test out the reset, but the results are still the same, un-sharp images... Here is a sample of an image taken in the shade, (Settings were f5.6, 1/60 sec. ISO-400 55- 200mm @200mm with a distance of 30 feet.)

Any help and suggestions would be appreciated...

Detail