Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-21-2016, 12:27 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Pentax K-7 with 40 limited

Hi All!

I am Puneet from India, I need a suggestion from you guys, I am getting 2 deals in second hand Pentax cameras:-

1. K7d bundled with Pentax-DA 40mm F2.8 Limited for about US$300. The lens has great review my only question is isn't K7 quite dated or would be ok to start with?
2. K-5ii body only for US$400

Which one is a better deal? I have been using MFT Olympus EM5 for the last 3 years, I am not happy with its EVF so thinking to buy another system with OVF.
I am totally new to Pentax your suggestion will be highly appreciated.

06-21-2016, 12:33 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by puneet.gaur Quote
Hi All!

I am Puneet from India, I need a suggestion from you guys, I am getting 2 deals in second hand Pentax cameras:-

1. K7d bundled with Pentax-DA 40mm F2.8 Limited for about US$300. The lens has great review my only question is isn't K7 quite dated or would be ok to start with?

Which one is a better deal? I have been using MFT Olympus EM5 for the last 3 years, I am not happy with its EVF so thinking to buy another system with OVF.
The sensor in the K-7 isn't the best (sorry K-7 owners), that said getting the camera plus the lens at that price is an absolute bargain. Is there heavy mileage on the camera perhaps? The lens alone is worth around $300.

Overall I'd still recommend that you grab a K-5 / K-5 II if you can afford it, as the difference in image quality is well worth it. You can expect 1.5-2 stops better noise performance, not to mention better dynamic range, improved AF, faster burst, etc.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)