Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-23-2016, 10:32 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Dumb-noob questions: Kx -- live view

I've been shooting with my beloved K1000 for a little over 20 years and love it to pieces, but recently broke down and got a K-x because I'm currently not able to get film developed. So I'm just gonna put my dumb questions here.
I've started reading through a PDF manual, & a paper one is on the way. Maybe somewhere in those 324 pages are the answers, but this might be quicker...
(I've only used it a few times & still don't have all the settings 'set', I guess; it was second-hand too.)

So first of all, I noticed that the pictures I shot with the camera set to Live View were lighter than the ones I shot using the viewfinder. For instance a whole stop difference; the camera changed the ISO from 200 (viewfinder) to 400 (LV). It was either P or macro mode at the time. I read the pages on Live View but haven't seen anything that helped.
Am I missing something in the settings?

06-23-2016, 10:45 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The metering method is different. Just note the differences and compensate with exposure compensation. Later models are closer but some difference can still be found.
06-23-2016, 10:48 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi, congrats on the K-x. Its a great wee camera. I had one before I got the K-5

I found mine did this when dealing with a bright sky in the background - depending on what exposure mode you are in. Its quite a common problem because really the camera is taking a guess as to what sort of exposure you want (e.g. do you want the sky exposed correctly or another part of the image).