Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-03-2016, 09:01 AM   #1

Pentax K-X video lighting

Hi everyone,

I am a total beginner when it comes to making videos. I mainly record music but started wanting some videos on my youtube channel. My problem is that my room forces me to film directly towards my windows, where I record music. Overtime I move slightly so that more light meets my lens the camera automatically makes everything darker. Is there a way for me to disable that and just have my video at a set lighting? I read an article that said I could turn it off in the options, but the picture shown does not look like the menu I have on my camera.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

07-03-2016, 09:52 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Use manual mode.
07-03-2016, 09:55 AM   #3
Imp
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Canada_Rockies Quote
Use manual mode.
That.

Also, you could light yourself with some basic lighting, and shade the windows to even things out.
07-03-2016, 10:24 AM   #4
Pentaxian

The K-x doesn't have a manual mode. OP, you'll have to lock the exposure (I assume your camera supports that). Press the AE-L/AF-L button when you have the correct exposure and then start recording.

07-03-2016, 01:48 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

The K-x gives you limited video exposure control, but you can lock the exposue as Giklab recommended.

The first Pentax to offer manual video control was the K-30, and all future models since then have it, so perhaps you should consider upgrading to one of those (like the K-50, which is nice and affordable).

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)