Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2016, 10:53 AM   #1

K-mount Ricoh kr-30sp light meter weirdness

Hello everyone,

I'm a veteran Pentax K-1000 user, but this is my first foray into late-1980s K-mount automatic stuff.

I was given a vintage Ricoh KR-30sp with a Tokina zoom lens (with Ricoh pin). I'm running a roll of film through it, and encountered a strange phenomenon. When I set the *lens* to auto-aperture (A) and the shutter dial to "P" for auto-program mode, the camera meters correctly. It chooses an aperture and shutter speed which are within about one stop of other cameras that I own. However, if I try any other mode, such as aperture priority (set the lens to desired F-stop, leave the shutter dial on P), or manual mode, the light meter is way off, as if it barely senses any light. I have to point the lens at a light a foot or two away at f/3.5 to get it to register about 1/2 sec for the shutter speed. It behaves accordingly. If I press the shutter, it's open for a half second (or 4 seconds, or whatever the meter is saying). Switch back to auto program mode, everything is peachy. The problem is that I prefer to shoot in aperture priority or manual. I hate program mode because I can't choose things like shooting wide open to blur the background, etc.

Has anyone encountered this before? Could it be the Tokina lens?

Thanks!

07-05-2016, 11:39 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

Questions...
  • When you have the aperture ring off the "A" position, does the lens stay wide open regardless of aperture ring position?
  • What happens when attempting shutter priority?