Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-06-2016, 08:19 PM   #1

Pentax K10d general question

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum. I am an experienced graphic design professional and photography/photo editing is an important part of my work.

I'm also a photo enthusiast, for lack of a better termů and I've been shooting with a mint condition K10d. Eventually, I'd like to step up to a K5 or K5 II. In the meantime, my question for this thread is: When shooting in full automatic mode (an example might be, say, walking around at an outdoor or indoor event), am I better off using the green setting on my dial, or something else like P? I'd like to use the best choice of setting that will provide even lighting and best exposures when in full auto mode (my choice of lens lately has been the DA35 prime :-) ). I'm hoping for a few quick opinions. Thanks!

09-06-2016, 08:38 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

The conventional wisdom is to avoid "green" mode and use P as a predictable option for hands-off shooting.

Steve
09-06-2016, 08:40 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Green mode is essentially P mode with many menu settings greyed out. If you know what you're doing, there's no reason to use green mode.

General tips: shoot in RAW and select the program line that corresponds to the intended goal. There's normal (default), bokeh, dof, action/faster shutter speed, and MTF.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

09-07-2016, 05:59 AM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian