Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2016, 12:44 AM   #1

K1000 Lens Release

Hello! I discovered a nice K1000 some time ago in a second-hand shop; my SN is 8158205. The Old Fellow looks to have been used quite a bit(!), but, the shutter speeds certainly seem Great! Alas, the lens release is frozen...how much of a job will this be to free-up? I will say, that I have many years experience--as a Hobbyist--working on classic / antique pocket and wrist watches, so, I have a good selection hand tools for fine work, plus a decent sense of things mechanical. Thanks. Michael.

09-13-2016, 01:10 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have to admit that just when I thought I had heard of everything, this issue pops up. Is the release button stuck in the in position or out position? You do not indicate if there is a lens attached to the camera or not. If not, you can shine a flashlight down and in where the button is activated and see if there is any obstruction. You may also consider taking some 3 in 1 oil, apply the oil onto a toothpick and try to spread around the outer surface of the button. Should free it up unless the previous owner has abused the unit. If you have a camera sales/service center in your area give them a call and ask if the unit is salvageable without having to take a second mortgage on your home. Good luck with that. Hope this helps.

Tony
09-13-2016, 01:57 AM   #3
pjv
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Michael Maddan Quote
Alas, the lens release is frozen...how much of a job will this be to free-up?
Hi Michael. When you say the lens release is frozen, do you mean that a lens is on the body that you cannot remove? if that is the case, can you tell us what lens it is please.
09-13-2016, 04:43 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If it is the locking pin you are speaking of then I have a little experience in this matter.