Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-05-2016, 11:01 AM   #1

Spotmatic f flash

So, I just recently bought myself a spotmatic F. I'm new to old film cameras, so I'm not very familiar with them. I just wonder if it's possible to connect a modern flash through the x and Fp ports. If not, would I need to get an older flash meant for the camera type? Thank you!

10-05-2016, 12:10 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

The hot shoe will work with all modern electronic flashes that support a manual mode. Similarly, the X PC connector will work with corded flashes. FP is connector used for special, long-burn flash bulbs that may still be available if you have a need for them. You can download a copy of the SP F user manual from:

http://www.pentax-manuals.com/manuals/m42/m42manuals.htm

Steve
10-05-2016, 12:17 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Any flash should fire just fine. These terminals are both mechanical switches so they won't harm any connected flash. I forget what the differences are between each port. Probably X is better because X continues today.

The cameras came with caps for the terminals because some old flashes had a high voltage across their firing terminals. If you had one of those flashes on the hotshoe, the high voltage would also be on the ports. If you weren't careful holding the camera, you could get a shock from the ports. Modern flashes are unlikely to be a problem here either.
10-05-2016, 12:46 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thank you for your replies. U just realised that my Spotmatic F didn't comr with a hot shoe. How would I get around this?

Thank you!

10-05-2016, 02:18 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Hamseriadau Quote
Thank you for your replies. U just realised that my Spotmatic F didn't comr with a hot shoe. How would I get around this?

Thank you!
I + come... Walking and typing without proof reading is dangerous. Haha.