Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
10-13-2016, 02:04 PM   #1
Veteran Member

High Speed Flash Sync w/K10d

I just purchased a ProMaster FL-160 to use with my Pentax K10d. This is the first flash I've had that is capable of HSS.

I have set the flash to HSS mode by pressing the mode switch until a small H appears on the flash's LCD panel. According to the manual, this is the indicator for HSS.

Since I've never used HSS before, I pulled out the PDF copy of the manual for my camera. It seems to indicate that, to use HSS, I simply set the camera to M or Tv modes, and set the flash to HSS (I've already done that). The manual, of course, only refers to the Pentax brand flashes, AF540FGZ and AF360FGZ.

However, the camera will not let me set the shutter speed faster than 1/180 sec. So, no HSS.

Is there anything else I need to do to enable HSS on my camera.

This is a nice little flash and I got a really good price on it. Its brand new in the box.

The camera firmware is version 1.31, the latest.

Thanks for any help.

10-13-2016, 02:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by noblepa Quote
I just purchased a ProMaster FL-160 to use with my Pentax K10d. This is the first flash I've had that is capable of HSS.

I have set the flash to HSS mode by pressing the mode switch until a small H appears on the flash's LCD panel. According to the manual, this is the indicator for HSS.

Since I've never used HSS before, I pulled out the PDF copy of the manual for my camera. It seems to indicate that, to use HSS, I simply set the camera to M or Tv modes, and set the flash to HSS (I've already done that). The manual, of course, only refers to the Pentax brand flashes, AF540FGZ and AF360FGZ.

However, the camera will not let me set the shutter speed faster than 1/180 sec. So, no HSS.

Is there anything else I need to do to enable HSS on my camera.