Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-12-2016, 05:35 PM   #1
Forum Member

DA* 55mm F1.4 Calibration / Photographers in Melbourne

I am posting this thread, specifically for photographers in Melbourne Australia as i am looking to get help on an issue.

I have just calibrated a 55mm 1.4 lense as i was getting out of focus/soft pictures (using lenscal). I then went out to shoot again and produced the same results.

As my camera pentax k1 isd only a day old, i am thinking that this is either an issue with the lense, af problems, maybe the camera. While i am new to actually photography i do have a good understanding of how to shoot. I thought i would see if there is anyone here who might be able to catch up, as right now this is my only lense. You may be able to also calibrate it better than i have even though i thought i did ok. I'd be happy to pay $50-75 for your time.

Thanks

11-12-2016, 06:40 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I know someone who's had this lens for years and who took it to the Pentax service center on many occasions to get it adjusted. They made it better, but still not perfect. I think it's fair to say the lens can be hit-and-miss, plus at F1.4, the DoF is so shallow that even the slightest error in focusing (or movement after focus is locked) can mess things up.

When focus accuracy is critical, I'd recommend using live view.

Also, remember that this is technically not a full frame lens, so YMMV in the corners.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-12-2016, 06:48 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster