Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2016, 03:23 PM   #1

Pentax K-1 Anomaly (Row of Dead Pixels?)

Hi, I hope someone can assist! Regarding my questions, apologies if they seem "level novice."

Backstory: I recently purchased a used, "d rating," K-1 from Adorama. They assured me everything was fine with the camera and it showed little to no signs of wear and the rating itself was above E+.

However...I can't discern whether there's an inherent issue--setting wise--with the photos I'm taking, or if there's a much larger problem occurring...perhaps something wrong with the sensor. Given I'm still learning about this wonderful camera and about photography in general, my sincere apologies, again, for having to be a nuisance to the expert community, but I'm hoping someone here might spot the issue right away and point me in the right direction on the way to a solution.

Please find two sample photos I took:

Photo 1 is a JPEG, settings: 1/13; f/2.2; ISO 100; colorspace: sRGB; SMC Pentax-DA 1.8 50 mm lens.
Photo 2 is a RAW-DNG, settings: 1/13; f/2.2; ISO 100; colorspace: sRGB; SMC Pentax-DA 1.8 50 mm lens. (please note I tried to upload a dng but took a screenshot of this second file instead since...in the attachment key, DNG is not available).

In the upper left, on the y axis--around 1070px--there's this strange purple line that cuts across both photos, and then fades out around 5600 px on the x axis.

Now, I took a series of photos that looked fine from the liveview monitor and viewfinder, and at first I couldn't tell if anything was wrong with the picture until I opened up the photos on my iMac. At first, I thought it was an anomaly that Photoshop's Camera Raw feature was producing, but then I opened the picture in Silky Pix and Lightroom, and all of my photos had the same issue, on the very same y and x axis coordinates as noted above in the two sample photos.