Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-21-2016, 06:09 PM   #1
Forum Member

Recommended fill light flash k1

I am looking for a fill light flash for K1 low light outdoor situations, front lighting, and indoor where there is not significant light. My focus is on streetfashion (full body) and portraits, and i am very new to this game, so hopefully not something to technical but also will do a very good job. I am thinking a speedlight.

On a side note i do occasionally shoot freeze motion such as skateboarders, where i've been told to shoot fast flash duration and a high output of light. Not as essential as the above though.

I don't have any other supporting equipment which may be important to know, such as umbrellas, softboxes, strobes etc as yet.

Any recommendations would be appreciated

Last edited by yozza; 11-21-2016 at 06:37 PM.
11-21-2016, 07:04 PM - 1 Like   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Fill light isn't for low light conditions. It's to brighten up the shadows in good light conditions.

Either way, look for a flash that offers HSS and can be rotated.

It can be used. Something like a genuine Pentax 540 fits the bill, but Sigma and Metz make cheaper alternatives, you'll just have to spot/research any incompatibilities or needed firmware upgrades.

11-21-2016, 07:42 PM   #3

Photos: Albums
I am a fan of Metz flashes. They are powerful and they will do P-TTL. I have used them in aircraft hangars and the light output surprises me especially for a compact flash unit.

obin
11-21-2016, 07:54 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by clackers Quote
Fill light isn't for low light conditions. It's to brighten up the shadows in good light conditions.

Either way, look for a flash that offers HSS and can be rotated.