Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2017, 11:23 AM - 1 Like   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Lens Flare/reflection?

K-3ii DA* 16-50 iso 100 f4.5 25s
no filter with hood properly attached

I've been meaning to get out and get pictures of a power plant near me since it was built a couple years ago. Went out this morning to get a few. The DA* 16-50 is new to me, especially for this type of photography. I've mainly used this lens for indoor event shots. I'm still learning to use this lens. The below is cropped and the original perspective was with the base of the plant just above the bottom 3rd. Let me know If it would help to post the original.

Questions.
1. Is this lens flare -- above the plant in the clouds? Basically looks like a reflection of the factory lights in the clouds although I can't manage to match up the pattern in the clouds with the actual lights.
2. What can be done to avoid/reduce this? Is it just a matter of more experience/learning with the lens?

myFlickr

lightroom heal applied, but never looks as good. I'm sure it would be better with practice.
myFlickr

01-01-2017, 11:52 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
No, that is not lens flare.

What you are seeing in the clouds is reflected light from somewhere. It might be the plant but I think the light is coming for something behind the plant.

Going back and looking at the first photo you posted, you might be getting a small amount of light that is reflecting off of the sensor and rear element of the lens. I know other people have posted questions about reflections like what you are getting and the consensus is reflections in the lens. I don't have any suggestions to solve it but I am sure others will be here shortly with some good suggestions.

Last edited by bigdavephoto; 01-01-2017 at 11:59 AM. Reason: More information
01-01-2017, 12:15 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter