Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2017, 07:50 AM   #1

Improving my manual focusing

So I'm still pretty dissatisfied with my manual focusing results and I'd like to ask you all for some suggestions/recommendations/techniques that maybe I haven't tried or thought of yet?

As a background, I've been using manual lenses for almost 2 years now so there's no lack of practice, I've also installed a Pentax magnifier eyecup (the O-ME53 with a 1.18x magnification) and an EC-A focusing screen Focusing Screen .

I'm wondering if an eyecup with a greater magnification might help?

I don't LOVE the EC-A screen, it's better than the stock one but I think I'd prefer and maybe get better results with split-image screen?

Unfortunately (I say this because it adds to the challenge) my "subjects" are almost exclusively my young children, often running, jumping, rolling around, laughing, crying, screaming, playing (you get the point) and frequently I'm juggling the low light fast moving subject conundrum. Maybe this is another area I could reconsider my technique, but the "solution" so far is shooting mostly wide-open, which obviously really narrows my DOF. I have tried varying combinations of higher ISO with a more stopped-down aperture and that has of course widened my DOF but it's a relative improvement because I'm also often snapping pics of my girls when they're <10' away from me.

Thinking out loud here, I rarely attach my flash, could this help?

Lastly, the visual and audible focus notifications on my K30 are not accurate, with center focus selected the camera is sounding when my focus subject is clearly (no pun intended!) not in focus. My question here, would dialing in the in camera AF fine adjustment correct this particular issue?

Thanks in advance for any input!

01-15-2017, 09:00 AM   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums