Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
03-14-2017, 05:33 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

New KP: newbie question

Hi, all. My KP just arrived. I'm new to Pentax and dslrs, having used only my Olympus m4/3 and Leica XVario the last several years. I hate to start off with such a silly question but is the viewfinder always so dark? I'm using the 15mm f/4 Limited lens, if that makes a difference. I haven't used a camera with an OVF since the '70's.

Thanks

Amy

Last edited by Astropaps; 03-16-2017 at 05:28 PM.
03-14-2017, 05:41 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not familiar with the lens, but it sounds like the aperture may not be opening properly between exposures. Does it expose correctly?
03-14-2017, 05:45 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by normhead Quote
I'm not familiar with the lens, but it sounds like the aperture may not be opening properly between exposures. Does it expose correctly?
I 2nd this. I have both the camera and lens in question by the OP and never ran into troubles like this.
03-14-2017, 05:50 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

With an optical viewfinder, an f/4.0 lens will give a darker viewfinder picture than an f/2.8 lens (half the light). EVF cameras can compensate for this, while OVF's can not.

03-14-2017, 05:51 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by normhead Quote

Yes, it exposes properly.

Amy

03-14-2017, 07:23 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Correct exposeur does not mean it also opens between exposeurs. Look into the lens from the fron, take an exposeur. If the blades open slowly, there is some problem with the lens. If it opens quickly and fully, then it's okey. In the second case, yes the optical viewfinder is dark.

(I have the camera, but not the lens and I have never used EVF.)
03-14-2017, 07:34 AM   #7
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter