Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
03-20-2017, 08:02 PM   #1

Lenses for the Pentax K50

Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to photography, and was looking to expand my lens collection to something more than the kit 18-55mm lens that came with the K50. I am open to any recommendations, however I enjoy photography different nature scenes, along with buildings and various structures. I am particularly interested in a telescopic lens of some sort, and one that is not more than $500, as I don't have a large budget. Thank you in advance for your suggestions!

03-20-2017, 09:21 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The new DA 55-300mm PLM is an excellent choice as a telephoto lens, and it has the fastest AF of any Pentax lens:
HD Pentax-DA 55-300mm F4.5-6.3 ED PLM WR RE Reviews - DA Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

You could also upgrade the 18-55mm to an 18-135mm for added convenience and silent AF, or get a prime such as the DA 35mm F2.4 or DA 50mm F1.8 for better bokeh control and sharper images.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
03-20-2017, 09:23 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If you want a longer lens, a version of the 55-300 ought to be a pretty good start, and will give you a good idea of the focal lengths you still don't have.
03-21-2017, 03:13 AM   #4
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

my own adventure with my K-50 and looking for lenses:

prime, prime, everywhere a prime... - PentaxForums.com

be careful of cracking open the LBA case; it'll become an obsession....