Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
04-13-2017, 08:23 PM   #1

Macro photography

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I am a novice in photography. I wanted to start doing macro photography. My budget is $500. Any suggestions on what camera I can use?

04-13-2017, 09:30 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hello Jeanne, maybe a second hand K-5 or indeed the K-5 IIs and an A series 50mm f2.8 macro lens. This may be in under the budget.
that lens is manual focus, but manual focus and macro go hand in hand as such.
I would suggest also if the budget allows maybe instead the FA 50 macro, that one is auto focus as well as manual.
It will depend on what kind of subjects you want to photograph in macro. 50mm or 100mm lens. Anyway that is a start, others will have their suggestion for you to mull over.

Pentax K-5 - Pentax K-mount DSLRs - Pentax Camera Reviews and Specifications

https://www.pentaxforums.com/camerareviews/pentax-k-5-iis.html

SMC Pentax-A 50mm F2.8 Macro Reviews - A Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

SMC Pentax-FA 50mm F2.8 Macro Reviews - FA Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

and this to get the creative juices flowing
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/177-macro-photography/

Last edited by beachgardener; 04-14-2017 at 04:08 AM.
04-14-2017, 02:47 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Hi, Jeanne,