Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-18-2017, 11:09 PM   #1

Need help on very basics for a noob

Hi all, I am completely new in dslr and photograhy. I recently bought Pentax K-S2 20MP DSLR Kit w/ 18-50mm WR. Till now just used to take some basic photos, but I discovered that I need to do more with it. I saw many photos such as macro photos of microcosm (insects, plants etc..) and moon photos with 300mm zooms plus tilt shift photos (particularly I like this concept) How I can get lenses appropriate to my camera to achieve these? Do I have to get only pentax branded zooms? or Can I get other brands of zoom which can be fitted my camera too? Need help

04-18-2017, 11:41 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by stevevaius Quote
Do I have to get only pentax branded zooms? or Can I get other brands of zoom which can be fitted my camera too? Need help
Many "third-party" lenses are available - Sigma and Tamron, and Samyang to some extent, are the most common. However, they make lenses for several brands of camera so you want to look for "for Pentax" or "Pentax K mount".

One caveat is the "Ricoh pin" situation where though the Ricoh lens fits and works, but it has a small pin on the mount that drops into a corresponding hole on the body preventing removal. That can be fixed, though.

Other lenses screw into what is called an "M42 adaptor" which then mounts on the camera.

I had a Sigma 17-70, Tamron 90 macro, and Tamron 70-200.

Last edited by SpecialK; 04-18-2017 at 11:47 PM.
04-18-2017, 11:57 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
One of the cheapest and easiest ways to get into macro photography is to get a magnifying adaptor such as those made by Raynox.

As for other lenses compatible with your K-S2 (superb camera, by the way!) - there are literally hundreds of different options out there. A good place to start is in the Lens Database in these forums.