Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
05-23-2017, 08:57 AM   #1

Buy or Wait - Too Many Choices

I'm essentially ready to upgrade my Pentax body and get a new lens. I'm willing to spend some cash to do this, because it's been several years and I'm ready for an upgrade. I'll be moving from an *ist DS and a K-01 to a...well, that's the problem. I'm a hobbyist photographer that enjoys landscapes and capturing a beautiful sunset, Taking pictures of flowers, and having a good camera to take family photos on occasion. Lately, I feel the old passion of photography growing again, so I find myself using my cameras more and more. For the first time in several years I am feeling the limitations of my gear.

I could be convinced to buy the K1, but it truly is overkill for me, I think. I just don't know that I'd use it enough to justify the price. I like the price of the KP and the fact it's an APS-C camera, but I like the K3II features a bit more. I've heard rumors that the K3II will be replaced this year and end up being an APS-C camera that sits between the K1 and KP, so this seems ideal - but it is a rumor so I'm not certain.

SO, my question is do I buy a very expensive camera that is probably overkill; or, do I buy an affordable camera that doesn't quite have the feature list I would like; or, do I wait for a K3II replacement?

Does anyone have any thoughts or guidance? Thanks in advance! :-)
~b

05-23-2017, 09:19 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Is the K-1 overkill or is it a growth opportunity? Perhaps a more advanced camera is the right choice to let your passion grow.

That said, if you prefer APS-C, then the KP is an extremely capable camera and a K-3 replacement may be coming. Yet neither the timing of the next K-3 nor it's pricing are known so you may be waiting a long time just to get an expensive APS-C camera when you could have had the K-1 or KP all along.