Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
08-06-2017, 06:16 PM   #1
Pentaxian

K-1 side grip first clicking, now developing into structure having loose feeling

I've generally been very happy with my K-1. Had it since February of this year. However this grip issue seems to be getting worse. It's hard to figure out what is causing it. I've read at least one other thread in this forum regarding this issue, so it's just not my particular camera body.

I haven't seen anything in the forum or elsewhere that describes what is going on with some K-1 grips. My K10D, K-5 have a similar side grip and there is absolutely no 'loose' feeling regarding the grip.

I've seen pictures of the unadorned K-1 body and it seems like a solid, one piece metal casting to my eye. However I'm not a structural engineer and so far can't figure out what the problem is and more importantly what needs to be done to repair the body.

If anybody has had a similar issue, please let me know and if they have had it repaired, I would appreciate knowing what the exact problem was and how it was successfully addressed.

It's bugging me and I paid a lot of money for this camera. It seems to be getting worse, I want it fixed. Thank you for your contribution.

08-06-2017, 06:34 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There have been previous reports of this problem. See here: Grip creaking (near IR sensor) - PentaxForums.com
08-06-2017, 06:35 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

While I haven't experienced this particular problem myself, if it's a design defect rather than something caused by normal wear or damage, it should be covered under warranty and I wouldn't hesitate to send the camera in.

Looking at the design of the body, my guess would be that the thumbrest padding/trim attached to the metal chassis might be coming loose? It's quite unlikely that the chassis itself has a fracture, though who knows!