Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2017, 12:34 AM   #1

150/900/2250 cassegrain

Hi, I'm newbie to this forum. I am an astronomy masters student researching old telescopes at Perth Observatory in Australia. I saw a post mentioning a Zeiss 150/900/2250 cassegrain. One of the scopes I'm looking at has this string of numbers inside the old record book. What does it mean pls?

09-13-2017, 12:56 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
A quick google search found this from the 1981 Supplement to Current Science:

"The Astro-Division of VEB Carl Zeiss JENA
which attained world-wide success by building
the 2 m-Universal Reflecting Telescope for the
Karl Schwarzschild Observatory, in Tautenburg,
introduced two new small astronomical instru-
ments : a powerful astronomical telescope
for schools and amateurs with a semi-apochro-
matic lens AS of 63 mm. internal aperture and
840 mm. focal length, and the Meniscas 150/
900/2250 a cassegrain reflecting telescope with
a miniscus-shaped entrance lens with polished
Cassegrain mirror whose high image quality
permits in addition to visual observation,
photographs of celestial objects and close sub-
jects from 30 metres distance upwards. "

I'm sure one or more of the astrophotography togs here will know more.

Jack
09-13-2017, 07:36 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums