Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-17-2017, 03:21 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Need advice on portrait lenses

I have a K-50 and have been toying with the idea of getting an 85 mm lens for portraiture. At B&H I was looking at some K mount lenses (manual) and it said they were for full frame and were equivalent to APS-C Focal Length: 127.5 mm. I understand that my K-50 isn't full frame and I have read about the math used to convert full frame (lens length) to APS, which might as well be Chinese to me, math not being my strong suite.
My question is this: I have a 135 mm manual lens that works well with my K-50. Would I be wasting money on getting a lens so close to what I already have? Bear in mind I am NOT a pro. I am barely an enthusiast.
Any help/advise would be greatly appreciated.

09-17-2017, 03:31 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Focal length of a lens is a property of a lens only. Putting that lens on aps-c or full frame does not change the FL.

Your proposed 85mm lens will not look like a 127.5mm lens. It will look like a 85mm.

Focal length "equivalence" is misunderstood, and in my view very unhelpful, but here goes anyway.....

Take a 85mm lens , put it on a full frame camera and you get a certain magnification and field of view when the image is viewed say on your computer screen at full screen view. Now put the same lens (still 85mm) on a smaller aps-c sensor. The lens produces the same image circle and magnification on the sensor. But because the aps-c sensor is smaller, less of the field of view is recorded. Now when you view the aps-c image on your computer screen in full screen view you see a narrower field of view and the subject of your picture is larger. The image is only larger because it has been "enlarged" more in order to fill your screen as it has a narrower field of view.