Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 21 Likes Search this Thread
10-09-2017, 09:35 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
I want my Spotmatic back!

When I got back into photography a couple of years ago I was pleased to see that Pentax still made cameras. I got my Pentax Spotmatic during Christmas vacation 1967. I was a High School freshman and it rarely left my hands for the next decade. It was manual, it let me take bad pictures and I loved it. So I've been wrestling with this k-30 for a while, trying to sort out the few things I want from the bazillion things it wants me to have and I'm about to throw it. I can put it in manual, I can set aperture, f-stop and iso and set for spot metering. And still the only freaking photo I can take seems to be perfectly exposed! I'd like to take a picture with part perfectly exposed and part in shadow but it won't take the picture. Even a bad picture would let me figure out what to do to correct it(and without using film, developing film and printing which is an advantage).

I have even checked other brands of cameras and different models of pentax but they all brag about how much unwanted crap they want to give me. Is it impossible to set it to those basic controls? Or is there some (incredible convoluted) button I need to press?

Any help would be appreciated,

Ann

10-09-2017, 09:37 AM   #2
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
so.... the complaint is that the K-30 takes good pictures?
10-09-2017, 09:41 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Put your K-30 in M mode, and do all the things you did with the Spotmatic. My three cameras have never seen AF C, or any Auto controls. Shoot RAW. Turn off all the hype.
10-09-2017, 10:34 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter