Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-19-2017, 01:48 PM   #1

This is a damaged lens, right?

I bought a used DA 35mm from another member and just got it now. I'm relatively new to SLR photography, and I realize this is a cheap lens, but this seems like pretty obvious damage, right?

Shared album - Kodiak Firesmith - Google Photos

^^Be sure to un-mute the video^^

My concerns are there are 3 different points during moving the focus ring where it grinds and binds, and the inner barrel has a pronounced crack that looks like it's from an impact that must have happened while inside something that protected the impacted surface from abrasion. The crack has been kind of hard to get a good shot of with my phone, but I might point my Panasonic at it next to see if I can make it as apparent as it is in person.

Thanks!

10-19-2017, 01:56 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My first question is have you contacted the seller regarding your concerns?

Secondly, the DA 35 2.4 does not have a quick shift manual focus. Before turning the focus barrel, be sure the camera is switched to manual focus. It is an inexpensive lens with great optics!
10-19-2017, 02:14 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks Twilhelm. I've reached out to the seller, but as a novice I wanted to also check my understanding of what I observed and take the opportunity to be corrected if I am mistaken about what I see.
Thanks!
10-19-2017, 02:24 PM - 1 Like   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Turning the focusing ring with the AF shaft engaged (i.e. AF mode on the AF/MF switch) can in fact damage both the camera and the lens if the lens doesn't have quick shift (this one doesn't, the DA 50mm F1.8 doesn't, all other current DA lenses do).

I would test the lens in autofocus mode, and in manual focus mode, doing what you just did. If it's smooth, then it's fine. If there are bumps or clicks, then it's defective.

Adam