Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2017, 07:43 PM   #1

Found used ist D. only takes black images

I Recently found a Pentax ist D and image is black on every mode. shutter looks like its working fine when i look down the lense, but when i go to playback all images are black. I am new to digital photography and would love any help the forum could give.

11-03-2017, 09:37 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Try taking the lens off the camera and then triggering the shutter. You should see the shutter curtains open and close.

Regards

Chris
11-04-2017, 12:14 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Is there any way you could post a quick video of what it’s doing on YouTube? That might make it easier for us to diagnose.
11-04-2017, 01:40 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Could be the cost of repair is not worth. There nice new cameras or even second hand that are better than istD.

11-04-2017, 02:26 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Hi, Nick, and welcome to Pentax Forums. The *istD was a nice camera (I still have mine) although very limited in comparison even with later models from five years ago, so I'd be wary of trying to have it repaired, too. Having said that, I presume you've checked that the Compact Flash card is working. When you say that the images are black, does that mean when you preview them in the camera, or after youve downloaded them from the CF card? Aside from checking the shutter operation with the lens off, as seventhdr has suggested, I have no other advice to give you.
11-04-2017, 03:37 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The problem is that shipping to a repair shop and paying for the spare parts can end up costing as much as a used K-S1.
Id recommend you do what the above comments said. Look into the camera when you take a shot to see what happens. Does the lens aperture move correctly? Do the mirror, shutter move correctly?