Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-11-2017, 12:32 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
With this lens break my K-1?

I got a used SMC PENTAX-FA 100-300. It's impossible to mount unless I move the metal "tooth"--I'm a photography noob and don't know what the word is--to the right to force the aperture to open. (See picture.) Moreover, this "tooth" is much harder to move on this lens than any of the other 5 lenses I own. My K-1 still takes pictures with this lens and nothing seems out of the ordinary about handling it, but I'm worried that I'll damage the electronics if I keep using it because I wonder if the shutter motor (I assume there is such a thing) has to struggle to open the aperture.

Also, I notice that the "tooth" is at a slant on this lens, whereas it is straight on all the others I own. Is that normal? Is it just a different variant of the K mount?

Should I ditch this lens or is it fine to go on using it?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1  Photo 
11-11-2017, 12:43 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The lens sounds damaged. I would advise against using it.

If you want, remove the lever entirely and set the aperture via the aperture ring only. Your lens would essentially meter like a Takumar but with AF, but it's better to do that than to damage an expensive camera IMO

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-11-2017, 12:44 PM   #3
Pentaxian