Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-07-2017, 07:14 PM   #1

Help with Pentax-A 50mm f2 on Pentax ME Super

I recently bought a Pentax-A 50mm f2 to use with the Pentax ME Super I bought the same day. I'm a beginner when it comes to film cameras and manual cameras in general.

From what I can see, the aperture doesn't change when it's on the camera. I've noticed that the aperture blades in the lens won't move at all once it's attached to the camera. When it isn't, or when the lens isn't completely locked into the camera, I can move the aperture ring and see aperture blades moving as well. Once it's fully locked on though, it seems to stay open at f2. From what I can see, the aperture doesn't change when it's on the camera. Is this normal for the lens; is it supposed to do that?

12-07-2017, 07:38 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Does the aperture close when you actually depress the shutter button to take a photo ?
12-07-2017, 08:26 PM   #3
Pentaxian

The is normal behavior for a Pentax K-mount camera with a K-mount auto lens. All Pentax K-mount SLRs use auto (open) aperture metering so the aperture remains open at all times except when DOF preview (where available) or during the exposure.

Without film in the camera set the aperture to to smallest (f/22 or f/32) and the shutter speed to "B". Press and hold down the shutter button and look through the front of the lens. The diaphragm should be closed down.

The user manual can be downloaded here:
http://www.butkus.org/chinon/pentax/pentax_me_super/pentax_me_super.htm
12-07-2017, 11:11 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by 35mmfilmfan Quote
Does the aperture close when you actually depress the shutter button to take a photo ?
I don't know actually. I'll take a look next time I'm using it.

12-07-2017, 11:12 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Not a Number Quote