Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2017, 09:31 AM   #1

Out of focus if taken with viewfinder, in focus if taken with live view

Hey! I bought a Pentax K-S2 a year ago and never had any trouble with it. Unfortunately, since a week or so, everytime I take an image with my 50mm f1.8 lens via the viewfinder the results are out of focus. In the viewfinder, it shows the red dot and there is a beep and everything seems sharp, but when I view the actual shot it is always slightly out of focus.

However all the shots taken with live view are sharp.

At first, I thought this was a problem with the lens-body communication pins, but after taking some shots with my 18-55mm the problem remained. So there is something wrong with my camera, but I don't know why (I never dropped it), what is causing the problem and how to solve this issue. I will post some photos tomorrow to show you how bad this is, especially since I am an amateur wildlife photographer and I need a fast and accurate AF, so I don't shoot in live view very often.
Please tell me if you know this problem, know what causes this issue or know how to fix it 😀😗

12-12-2017, 10:05 AM - 1 Like   #2

Photos: Albums
Maybe dirt/dust in the AF sensor or need for AF fine adjustment?
12-12-2017, 10:19 AM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Just curious, but if you put it manual focus with the viewfinder, ignoring what the camera thinks, and just focus for what looks sharp to you, is it?
12-12-2017, 10:38 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Did you initially set up the fine focus adjustment for the kit lens when you got it a year ago? Have you changed any of the fine focus adjustments recently? It sounds like classic back or front focusing, especially if live view is sharp.

12-12-2017, 10:56 AM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member