Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2017, 08:03 AM   #1

K3 won't trigger external flash?

I'm new to shooting with an external flash. I set up my K3 to successfully take photos with an external flash, but all of a sudden it's stopped triggering the external flash. I double-checked that the built-in pop-up flash is working and it is. I can't see that I've changed any of my camera's settings, but I suspect that I may just have selected the wrong options? The external flash is definitely seated all the way into the hot shoe, i.e. it's not disconnected.

I would really appreciate it if anyone can provide insight into what options I need to confirm as being setup appropriately for the flash to be triggered.

12-14-2017, 08:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Does the flash fire when the test button is depressed? if so then check your setting and you might try cleaning the contacts
12-14-2017, 09:25 AM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by AME Quote
I'm new to shooting with an external flash. I set up my K3 to successfully take photos with an external flash, but all of a sudden it's stopped triggering the external flash. I double-checked that the built-in pop-up flash is working and it is. I can't see that I've changed any of my camera's settings, but I suspect that I may just have selected the wrong options? The external flash is definitely seated all the way into the hot shoe, i.e. it's not disconnected.

I would really appreciate it if anyone can provide insight into what options I need to confirm as being setup appropriately for the flash to be triggered.
What are your camera settings? You do know that Pentax dslrs won't fire the flash if the shutter speed is set faster than 1/180, don't you?
12-14-2017, 10:06 AM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

Possible answers to why the flash will not fire include: