Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2018, 06:24 PM - 1 Like   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

KP setup for quick adjustment from portrait to group photos

The thread title says it. I am still learning about my KP. This question is basic to photography technique and there are probably multiple ways to approach this but I am going to ask for advice. Do you experienced photographers use program mode and simply adjust the aperture for varying depth of focus? I want to be prepared for a group setting and I am certain that some individual portrait opportunities will present. Thanks

01-02-2018, 06:30 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by A H Thompson Quote
The thread title says it. I am still learning about my KP. This question is basic to photography technique and there are probably multiple ways to approach this but I am going to ask for advice. Do you experienced photographers use program mode and simply adjust the aperture for varying depth of focus? I want to be prepared for a group setting and I am certain that some individual portrait opportunities will present. Thanks
Ultimately, I think you want to very conversant with Manual mode, but for what you're describing you can just have it in Aperture mode - and spin that dial!

This works well in good daylight, but in other conditions the shutter speed may drop below 1/100s.

01-02-2018, 07:19 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I run aperture priority just about all the time. But as Clackers stated, I do keep a close eye on light conditions to adjust the iso as needed to keep my shutter speeds high enough. I’m not using the KP, but my dials are set for aperture and iso.
01-02-2018, 07:33 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
depth of focus?