Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2018, 11:39 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Loading Software

Hello folks,
I am new to Pentax and just bought the K-1. I am setting it up today, and had my Son format my card, and download the firmware update. What I need to know is did that process load all of the software that runs the camera? Or, do I load software for the k-1 from somewhere else, then do firmware updates separately?
Thank you for any fast replies so I can get this finished today.
Terry

01-13-2018, 11:48 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Hi Terry, welcome. The K-1 will run fine out of the box; the firmware update just adds all the latest updates and stability fixes. You should be good to go.

It's a different story if you're talking about the processing software supplied with the camera, Digital Camera Utility 5 which is used for developing RAW files, and needs to be installed to your computer from the disc that comes with the camera. You can use this, or other software for Raw development/processing, for example the payware Adobe Lightroom, or Camera Raw/Photoshop, or freeware RawTherapee or Faststone Image Viewer. If you're going to shoot JPGs initially, then you can transfer those to your computer by either connecting by cable, or importing from the SD card.
01-13-2018, 12:13 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Excellent! Thank you so much!
Terry
01-13-2018, 01:59 PM   #4
Veteran Member

>>What I need to know is did that process load all of the software that runs the camera?
Firmware is the only software required for camera to function. Rest are all optional, and they go to PC.

01-14-2018, 04:21 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So long ago that I got a new card but to my knowledge you will need to format the card in the camera to get the basic folder structure before you can take photos.
01-14-2018, 11:37 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Original Poster