Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-17-2018, 05:09 PM   #1

Pentax K1000 Diopter

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi pentaxforums!

Total noob here -- I just recently bought a Pentax K1000, but I can't stand taking pictures with my glasses on. I've read about diopters, and I have two questions.

1. The diopter value of my dominant eye (based on my current prescription) is -2.25. Do I round this to -2 or -2.5 when deciding what diopter to get?

2. Does anyone know what type of diopter would be compatible with the K1000 viewfinder, and where I can get one?

Thanks!

Matt

01-17-2018, 05:20 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
These threads have some background info on the diopter itself:

K1000 Viewfinder Diopter - PentaxForums.com
K1000 Diopter? - PentaxForums.com

This one should fit, I believe:

ASAHI PENTAX SMC CORRECTION LENS ADAPTER -3 | eBay

-3 may be a bit of a stretch, but I'd probably round up to 2.5.

There was also an interesting DIY solution shared above- trimming the glass in a pair of cheap glasses and essentially gluing it inside the viewfinder.

You may also be able to find a generic clip-on diopter.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-17-2018, 05:24 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote