Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-28-2018, 01:10 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K50 or Dell - which one lies to me?

Hi!

So, I'm an amateur who uses K50 and take photos of my insects (ants in particular). Today I did another session. I ussed RAW+ option to store the shots on card. I know, RAW are displayed with conversion to JPEG on my camera (or so I was told once). But even if I choose the camera to save all RAWs with particular settings (like manual white balance) to JPGs the difference between camera and those JPGs displayed on the camera is huuuuuuuuuuuge. Not just a slight change in color and/or contrast. I know, my DELL laptop isn;t the best display for photographs and its color change depending on graphics card used in the moment, but the difference (at least in contrast) is like the best photo ever on my camera and the worst ever on laptop.

Which one lies to me? Or maybe they borh lie to me..?

For example this one - would you say it has the best exposure/contrast/brightness/colours ever? I doubt. But my camera shows it as an ideal image...

Last edited by BigMackCam; 01-28-2018 at 01:20 PM.
01-28-2018, 01:24 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

What software are you using to display things on your laptop? As far as I know the only software that will read camera settings saved in a RAW is the Pentax supplied software. All others just render the RAW according to their own settings. I might be wrong on that but that is the way I understand it.

And depending on how old your laptop is (and the display settings on it) you might not be getting a realistic view of the image. Why not try some of those images on a different computer? That would tend to show you where the issue is.
01-28-2018, 01:24 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery