Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2018, 06:58 PM   #1

Need help figuring out tripod and tripod head for k3 II

Hi guys, this is my first time posting here. Long time lurker.

I recently got my hands on a new pentax k3 II and Im starting to realize the importance of a good tripod.

I have no idea what I am looking for at all. I really do not have the time to go across town with my camera just to see if the seller has the tripod that fits me.

What sorts of things am I looking for and what can I ask the seller ahead of time to confirm whether or not the tripod will fit.

I am thinking of putting an ad kijiji or craigslist for a tripod but I need to know what I am looking for.

Thanks guys. Please keep the pentax brand alive. 6 months ago I shelled out $1500 on camera +couple of lenses, and now my model is discontinued, Im sad.

02-15-2018, 07:20 PM   #2
Veteran Member

The K-3 and II have been around for a long while now and some advancements have developed since. The K-70 and KP are more recent. We are expecting a K-3 II replacement fairly soon.

Unless you know the model tripod you are looking for, or the one advertised, I would not recommend getting one through craigslist. The fitting in the camera's bottom plate for a tripod is of standard size. The main quality to look for in a tripod is stability, then there is its weight if you intend to use it for hiking. The head should allow ease of use for attachment of the camera, and also good for vertical and horizontal convenient adjustment, as well as panning.
02-15-2018, 07:30 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter