Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 20 Likes Search this Thread
06-17-2018, 03:50 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My K-50 Problems.

One of the current problems with my k-50 is when the shutter is activated, it splashes oil onto to the sensor. Obviously this appears in all the photographs taken. It is not easy to clone and heal them out. I contacted Advance Camera, talked to Gabe and he informed me that both Pentax and Nikon for some reason placed an excessive amount of oil on some of their models. There is no cure for this other than having to do a complete tear down on the k-50, resulting in a charge of approximately $200.00.

2. After cleaning the sensor, I started shooting indoors and got four shots of darkness. Oh no, the dreaded aperture block issue. I started to continue shooting and fortunately, the photos began appearing. So far after numerous photographs, I am hoping the problem just went away. Keeping my fingers crossed.

3. While taking photos, the Auto-Focus motor started making a grinding noise as though it wanted to function, but could not. I then switched to Manual Focus, which worked very well. A few minutes later, I switched back to Auto-Focus and it has been working flawlessly. I then went ahead and cleaned all of the contacts on the camera as well as the lens, so let's hope this was only a temporary issue.

4. The camera has less than 5,000 shutter activations so I am hoping that the Auto-Focus motor will be fine and that there will be no more totally dark exposures. That leaves the problem with the shutter spattering oil on the sensor. That will not just go away, and like anything that relies on lubrication, what will happen when it runs out of oil? Most likely it will freeze up the shutter and at that point the camera will not be worth shooting.